I have had a busy week creating some Autumn designs. The rest of the new Christmas designs are now online, including this cute snowman. He would be a hit on any child’s clothing, hat, or scarf. The autumn designs are being test stitched and will be appearing on the website soon.

It has been  mostly sunny  on the North Essex coast this week. I have been enjoying the sunshine with walks on the Naze, which is covered in blackberry bushes laden at the moment with ripe berries. I have made lots of jars of blackberry jam and have also made blackberry gin for Christmas. This involves putting the berries and a good helping of sugar into a largish kilner jar (about half full) then topping with alcohol. As we got given a bottle of gin I used that but you can use vodka also. You then put it in a dark cupboard for 3 months. You need to shake the jar every few days for the first month, then just leave it. It turns into a delicious liqeur like drink just in time for the festive season!! I’ve also made blackberry crumbles and blackberry charlotte. There are still loads of berries to pick so I dare say I shall be making a few more delights!

