My embroidery machine is away being serviced, which as we live in a remote area could take up to three weeks. This means I can’t test stitch any designs so I am having a holiday from digitising. It would be bad news but I decided to use the time profitably. I have just bought a lovely new sewing machine, the Janome Horizon 7700. It is aimed at the patchwork and quilting market and, as I am really hopeless at patchwork, I decided to use it to learn how to do it properly. The machine has lots of excellent features to help, including a built in walking foot, and a quarter inch guide sewing foot. So having cut out squares using my rotary cutter I have been making patchwork ipad cases. This is my first one The middle two sections are my pieced squares and I then quilted it using a built in stitch from my lovely machine. I was pleased with the result.

I then made a blue version of the above and also this little patchwork purse.

Little patchwork purse

I need to work on lining the squares up perfectly, but it’s quite pretty.

I also love making bags so I’ve also made a few, some with panels I’d embroidered earlier. I really like these embroidered hobo bags. I love this Mandarin duck design, not mine but from Embroidery Library, and this one with a colourful parrot.I made a little shoulder bag with bright fiery fabric. Hmmm, not my best sewing on that one! But I love the fabric.I love purple so made this in lilac and purple hues. The next one has a Dresden flap, which was quite tricky to do with my mediocre patchworking skills. I really like making personalised bags for children too, so this is one I made just before my embroidery machine went off, for a little girl called Sophie.

She loves it! I can be contacted via my website if you would like a quote for a personalised child’s bag.

Today I am making a dinosaur backpack for my grandson. I think I will then further my patchworking skills by making a lap quilt.

