On Friday I went with some friends to the Creative Crafts show at Five Lakes, near Tiptree, Essex. It is the first time I have been to a large show for crafters rather than a craft fair. It was held in a very large venue and was very well attended. I was pleased to find that the price of goods was lower than I expected, with most suppliers discounting what they were selling. It is a great opportunity to buy good quality fabrics at a very reasonable price. I had to restrain myself and just bought fabric I needed for my daughter’s wedding makes, apart from one pretty piece of cotton to cover the cork notice board in my sewing room which has just been painted. There wasn’t as many sewing related stalls as I had hoped, the event was much more aimed at card makers. However I did get some good ideas as I wandered around and it was great to see how many people are interested in crafting, it was incredibly busy. There were some good workshops to do, although I didn’t join any of these as I hadn’t budgeted for the extra cost.  I shall definitely be going again next year, and now that I know what the event is like I shall be making the most of the cheaper prices!

Five Lakes hotel

Five Lakes complex

